In Club News, Hartley TS16

Race 16

The morning of Race 16 was unpromising, producing a torrential downpour and no wind to speak of. One crew bailed before rigging. The others drifted out to the start line of the handicap race.

Race official Ken Nagle had the challenging job of deciding the course, opting in the end for the southerly course. By the time the first boat, Murphy’s Law, David Johnston and Ross Pollitt, crossed the line the wind was a gentle 5 knot east/south easterly.

Murphy’s Law was pursued by Annette, Ron Johnstone and Ben Speed, and Vinca, Russell Johnston and Joe Horinek. But Murphy’s Law never relinquished its lead, crossing the finish line first.

Totally Sinister, Craig Jelfs and Neil Bilsborough, proved its status as championship winner. The scratch boat, it made its way through the fleet to finish second. It only actually gained second place in the last lap, having spent most of the race swapping places with Tranquil, Neil Johnson and Brett Pollitt and Uncle Norm, Eric Partland and Garry Wills, behind the front runners.

Annette was third across the line.

Murphy’s Laws’ win tightened its hold on the season point score, with Tranquil second and Totally Sinister third.

Totally Sinister is leading the summer point score, Annette is second and Murphy’s Law third.

Totally Sinister also had the fastest time. Uncle Norm leads the season point score, followed by Totally Sinister and then Tranquil.

Recent Posts