In Club News, Hartley TS16

Race 11

A handicap race, held in overcast conditions with a varying S-SE breeze that reached 5 knots maximum at times.

The course set was the southerly, which meant sailing down along the Drummoyne shore against a strong ebb tide.

Eleven boats started, the biggest fleet so far this season

The limit markers Tempo, Peter Dallas and Ian Campbell, and Murphy’s Law, David Johnson and Kate Thompson, made the best of the conditions from the start. They  looked to be uncatchable with a big lead and all boats battling the tide.

Murphy’s Law took the lead, and Merlot, Pete McSullea and Peter Deall, Tranquil, Neil Johnson and Brett Pollitt, and Totally Sinister, Craig Jelfs and Neil Bilsborough, slowly closed in on the leaders.

At the last mark the four boats rounded together with Murphy’s Law taking the lead again. Murphy’s Law, Merlot, Totally Sinister and Tranquil fought for the lead on the work to the finish.

Tranquil made the best of the conditions, and crossed the finish line first, 36 seconds ahead of Merlot, with Murphy’s Law 12 seconds behind to cross third. All eleven boats finished.

The win makes Tranquil the scratch boat.

Uncle Norm, Eric Partland and Garry Wills had the fastest time.

Totally Sinister Craig Jelfs and Neil Bilsborough,
Uncle Norm
Recent Posts